Digital Audio Workstation discussion

Started by RedKlouD72, September 10, 2011, 04:49:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RedKlouD72

Hi. I want to see if there are any trends as far as how people perceive the quality and prestige of various Digital Audio Workstations.

I am aware that ProTools has become the industry standard. But I am also wondering if any of you think this is sort of unwarranted,  and think that another one is technically better.

Also can anybody described to me what they think is so special about ProTools in comparison to other DAWs?

I've been using the same DAW for a few years, and I think, in the back of my head, I'm considering converting to ProTools. (I'm sure this wouldn't be a stupid idea considering it is so widely used, but I think I'm looking for some people to push me over the edge on this)

Also, what are your thoughts on GarageBand? I have never really sat down with it, but I have this impression that it is sort of ummmm... limited. Like it is kind of a toy.  Would you say GarageBand is an actual competitor, or do I have the right idea?

RobD

Garageband is the "cheap plastic car keys that toddlers use to teethe" of the DAW world. If you haven't a clue, use it for a week or two then go and get something better.